Registered Nurse – Types, Required Skills, Daily Tasks and More

Types of Registered Nurses

Addiction Nurse

Addiction Nurses are also known as substance abuse nurses: they specialize in addiction. In most cases, they chose this career because they or someone they love has suffered from addiction to drugs, alcohol or other substances. Addiction nurses employed in recovery centers, hospitals and outpatient care facilities. Certifications for addictions nurses are given by the International Nurses Society on Addictions (IntNSA).

Cardiovascular Nurse

Nurses who specialize in cardiovascular [1] care work in hospitals, coronary care units (CCUs) and physician practices that care for people with heart disease. You can get Certificates for cardiovascular nurses by the American Association of Critical-Care Nurses (AACN).

Critical Care Nurse / ICU Nurse

Critical care nurses work in intensive care units (ICUs) and CCUs. In some cases, ICU [2] nurses are referred to as critical care nurses and vice versa. They specialize in caring for people who are hospitalized for severe conditions and require round the clock observation. Certifications for ICU and CCU nurses are also given by the AACN.

Gastroenterology Nurse

Nurses who work in gastroenterology help people who develop gastrointestinal diseases [3] involving the stomach and digestive system. They might help doctors during colonoscopies [4] and endoscopies.  You can get Certificates for gastroenterology nurses by the American Board of Certification for Gastroenterology Nurses (ABCGN).