Parkinson’s Disease – 5 Stages, Alternative Rating System and How to Cope with

What to Know about Parkinson’s Disease

Parkinson’s disease (Parkinsonism) is a brain disorder that is marked by the presence of certain recognizable symptoms. These include uncontrollable shaking or tremor, lack of coordination, and speaking difficulties. However, symptoms vary and may worsen as the disease progresses.

The main symptoms of Parkinson’s include:

  • uncontrollable shaking
  • tremors
  • slowed movement (bradykinesia)
  • balance difficulties and eventual problems standing up
  • stiffness in limbs

Diagnosis on Parkinson’s disease relies on the Hoehn and Yahr rating scale to classify the severity of symptoms. The scale is broken into five stages based on disease progression. The five stages help doctors know the severity of your condition.