Lyme Disease Stages

Lyme disease is a medical condition caused by bacterial infections spread via ticks. The insects transfer a spiral-shaped bacteria called spirochetes through those bites. The bacteria remain in the skin for a while, then spread into the bloodstream. People with this medical condition may experience damage to several organs, such as the brain, heart, joints, skin, eyes, and spinal cord. According to research, people who spend a lot of time outdoors are more susceptible to the condition. Also, people who live in grassy, bushy, and woody regions are susceptible to the disease.

Lyme disease in humans can be caused by more than one species of spirochetes:

  • Borrelia afzelii and Borrelia garinii found mainly in Europe and Asia.
  • Borrelia burgdorferi in North America and, less commonly, Borrelia mayoni in the upper midwestern US.

This article will explain the stages of Lyme disorder and other things you need to know about this condition.

Stages of Lyme Disease

Lyme disease occurs in three stages:

  • Early localized Lyme
  • Early disseminated Lyme
  • Late disseminated Lyme