Top 8 Foods that Contain Gluten

Bread or Crackers, and Wraps

You can often find gluten in most bread [5], wraps and crackers. While this is not a guarantee, the best way to be certain is to check the list of ingredients of your bread and take note of the ingredient that were used. Gluten works like a balloon that helps the bread to grow as the dough become baked and turn into bread. This is what gives the bread a smooth, chewy texture to each slice.

Bread is a convenient way to describe gluten, although it is not found here only. Gluten is present [6] in rye, triticale, wheat, and barley, and any other product containing one or more of these grains.

If you suffer from gluten intolerance, it is best to avoid the following bread types.

  • white bread
  • potato bread
  • whole wheat bread
  • flatbread
  • rye bread
  • wheat crackers
  • flour tortillas
  • Sourdough bread
  • whole wheat wraps
  • bagels